Preparing to Thrive (Redux)

Well, here we are. New Year’s Eve once again. And once again, I see how badly I’ve neglected my blog. But I suspect a lot of us have neglected a lot of things in the past year. Or longer, to be honest.

I just read over the post I did at the start of 2021. I was struck by how little has actually changed for me since then. I think I could probably just re-post it, and it would be as accurate and relevant now as it was last year. Some things are different, of course. My responsibilities at the station became overwhelming, through a series of unforeseen and unavoidable events. But help is at hand, and my stress level is much more manageable now.

There have been some positive events as well. In the last couple of weeks, I had a chance – five chances, actually – to perform in live concerts. Everything from baroque recorder to classical to contemporary ambient music. I had no idea how much I missed performing. It also reminded me that I haven’t been creating much music this year, and how much I’ve missed that.

So tomorrow, I’m going to take an old superstition of my mother’s to heart. She always said that whatever you do on New Year’s Day, you’ll be doing for the rest of the year, so you’d better make sure it’s not a chore. Well, for New Year’s Day 2022, I plan to immerse myself in music and joy.

And with that in mind, I’ll take my leave for now. I wish you music and joy and good health in 2022.

One response to “Preparing to Thrive (Redux)”

  1. […] to myself at the end of last year, to allow more time to care for myself and to be creative. “To immerse myself in music and joy” is the exact phrase I used. And I’ve been doing that. The help that arrived at the radio […]

Leave a comment